Photo Story: Hue, Vietnam

I originally wanted to make a DIY Hue guide but I realized I didn’t have enough information to write one. Haha. So I just decided to make this photo story! This is a collection of the pictures I took with my Sony a5000. And if you want to know why I chose to take the hard way going to Hue, you can read it here. Enjoy the pictures and hopefully you’ll get to visit Hue yourself someday ^^

Hai Van Pass
The first of our many stops. We set out around 6:00 AM, got some banh mi for breakfast and two-day water supply, then we were off to a 4-hour butt-wrenching motorbike ride. Let’s do this Hai Van Pass!
Hai Van Pass
The Peak. After more or less 30 minutes, we reached the peak of the pass where you can get some more supply, eat something, drink coffee, or gas up.
Hai Van Pass
Clouds all around. I also wanted to go up the platform where the three girls are standing but my short legs couldn’t guarantee a safe attempt so the plan was abandoned. It was a really nice spot though. A lot of couples have taken their prenup there.

Hai Van Pass
Some parts of the pass as seen from the peak. The temperature at the top was quite cool. It was May when we went there. I imagine it would be cooler or can even be cold in January and February. The air was very crisp and fresh. Would love to go back and just do nothing but enjoy nature and all its glory. Time to hit the road again!
Lang Co
Lang Co. It’s a small community where livelihood is mostly fishing. I honestly thought it was an island. It’s not. It’s connected to the main land from the other side.
lagaw ni joy
And we’ve conquered Hai Van Pass! One of the most beautiful mountain passes in the world. Woohoo!
Bun Bo Hue
First thing we did when we arrived in Hue? Sleep! Haha! We had a little over an hour before lunch so we just slept. Man. I was exhausted after riding for 4 hours. When we woke up, we set out again to hunt for food. We went to Dong Ba Market, sat at one of the eateries there, and got ready to taste the famous Bun Bo Hue. I admit I was a bit disappointed. Our Vietnamese friends hyped it sooo much my expectations were through the roof. It wasn’t any different from the ones we get here in Danang. Maybe the place we went to just wasn’t very good. I’m giving Bun Bo Hue another chance.
Imperial City, Hue
The Citadel. The Imperial City reminded me of Intramuros in the Philippines. We just took this photo for the sake of taking a photo. Haha. We didn’t get in. I can’t remember how much the entrance fee was exactly but it was a bit too expensive for us that time. Tourism. I just promised myself I would get in next time I visit this small city.
Imperial City, Hue
Catching our breaths. We went to the rightmost side of the citadel and parked our motorbikes. Then we just sat under that tree on the right, steadied our breaths, talked lazily and took some more selfies. I wanted to sleep there. I almost did.
Imperial City, Hue
Ornate Gate. This was across the street from where we were sitting. I’m not sure whether it was an elegant government office or a very well-designed residence. Either way, they sure spent a lot building this.
Imperial City, Hue
The citadel from the sidelines. It was a very peaceful afternoon. It was quite hot but the breeze was refreshing and the trees provided great shelter from the sun. Off to our next stop!
The Royal Tombs, Hue
The Royal Tombs. Again, we didn’t go inside. Again, because it was a little too expensive for the kind of trip I had in mind. I’ve seen other blogs saying it was only 80,000 VND but when we went there, it was way more than that. Probably because it was a holiday (Labor Day). And again, I promised myself I would get inside when I go back to Hue.
The Royal Tombs, Hue
A closer look of the stairs. Thinking about it now, we should’ve just gone inside because we were already there. But I don’t think I would’ve enjoyed the place that much because I was already exhausted from all the riding. And so we decided to go back to the hotel and rest.
Hue Festival 2016
International Food Festival. After some more sleep (we were exhausted so no judgement, please 😛 ), we went to  the International Food Festival and got ourselves some Japanese BBQ. And yes, those two men cooking were actually Japanese.
Hue Festival 2016
*sizzle* *sizzle*
Hue Festival 2016
Lanterns.
Hue Festival 2016
Happy Fiesta, Hue! The traffic that night was crazy so we decided to park our motorbikes somewhere and just walk wherever our feet would bring us. We literally didn’t have any plan that night. We just wanted to roam around and break away from the hustle even for a few hours.
Hue Festival 2016
Passed by this group of students jamming to some Vietnamese songs. I had so much fun watching even though I didn’t understand any of the songs they were singing. Music really has a way of piercing your very soul no matter the language.
Hue Festival 2016
Walking to the other side of the river. aka looking for more food somewhere.
Hue Festival 2016
Banh Mi. Because the BBQ wasn’t enough. Good thing we saw this food truck ^_^
Hue Festival 2016
Went back to the other side of the river. aka still walking because we needed to burn all the food we ate. And yes, the lights at the bridge change.
Hue Festival 2016
Looking for a toilet? Find a sign that says WC. You’re welcome.
Hue Festival 2016
Sidetracked. We saw this fare along the river and we still had some time so we checked it out.
Hue Festival 2016
And that’s it! First day done!
Opla
Opla for breakfast. This one was really good. Here in Vietnam, they eat it with bread. I honestly would’ve preferred rice with it, but it was good nevertheless.
The One Coffee & Bakery
My cup of… seat? The One Coffee & Bakery at 03 Huong Vuong Street. We got there a bit late and all the coffee cup seats were already taken. Good place to spend some time talking with friends. Then we were off to the only official stop of the day.
Century Old High School
Quoc Hoc Hue. Better known as the Century Old High School, it is the first and the oldest high school in Vietnam. From what I read online, the school was founded at the same location in 1896, but the red-colored buildings were only built in 1915. I’m telling you. The red buildings were beautiful. It would be a perfect photo shoot location. They say that some of the brightest and most prominent people in Vietnam’s history went there. The school still welcomes students from all over Vietnam to date.
Century Old High School
This school is seriously beautiful. I would’ve loved to study in a place like this. I probably would’ve been more motivated to go to school early just so I could sit on one of the benches, read a book and listen to the birds singing.
Vietnamese Food
Homemade food for lunch. We visited our Vietnamese friend’s family friend 😛 and they made us superb authentic Hue lunch! I forgot what this one was called but it was delish! The rice paper has dried shrimp inside then you have to dip it in fish sauce. Sooo good. You can also eat it with pork.
Bun Bo Hue
Authentic Homemade Bun Bo Hue! Or the moment Bun Bo Hue redeemed itself. Waaay better than the ones in the market. No words needed. After lunch, we just rested for a bit, we went to Dong Ba market again and bought some stuff. Then it was time to say goodbye.
Lang Co, Hue
Lang Co from the other side. We decided to take the bus going back to Da Nang so we headed to the terminal in Lang Co. P.S. You sang it, didn’t you??? 😛
Lang Co, Hue
Stopped for a bit of photo session. It’s dark I now but I like this picture this way.
Lang Co
Buying tickets to Da Nang. We didn’t want to leave Hue early that’s why we decided to go back by bus. And I don’t really want to ride my motorbike through the mountain pass at night. Aside from the fact that it’s safer, it’s also faster because there’s a tunnel that goes right through the mountain straight to Da Nang. The bus was airconditioned and it was quite comfortable aside from the fact that it was overloaded. And nope, motorbikes aren’t allowed in the tunnel.
Da Nang
What about our motorbikes? They were transported back to Da Nang via trucks like this one. This was at the other side of the tunnel. We had to wait for around 15 minutes before we got our motorbikes back. Reminder: Keep your tickets. Don’t tell me I didn’t remind you.
The Mana Cafe
Bingsu. The Mana Cafe at 66 Do Quang. Because we, ladies, are proud of our achievement over that weekend.
The Mana Cafe
And another one because why not? Hooray to people who love matcha (green tea) flavored everything!

That’s all folks! First Hue trip accomplished. Thanks a lot for reading. Like, comment, share or all of them. Would make me really happy.

’til my next photo story~

Got something to say?

