Homesick

Lagaw ni Joy

Something has been bugging me these past few days. It’s been keeping me awake until the wee hours of the morning and I couldn’t just put my finger on it. Or I probably already know what it is… I just keep on denying it.

If you’ve read my previous post, you’d know that I’ve been here in Vietnam for three months now. I’ve had lots of ups and downs, hits and misses, and I’m thankful for every one of them. Despite all the life drama, my heart is actually in a good place.

But as the Christmas season draws nearer and nearer, my heart is also becoming more and more restless. This is the first time I’m spending Christmas away from home. I honestly didn’t want to write about this. But I have to. Because I just need to acknowledge the fact that I’m missing home so much.

Lagaw ni Joy
Mama & Papa

I miss mama and her constant reminders and sermons. I miss her food. I miss how she would nag me about cleaning my room and then just proceeds to cleaning it herself. I miss papa and our discussions about politics, entertainment, business and basically just about anything under the sun. I miss how supportive he is of my food experiments. I miss his childlike enthusiasm. I miss saying the words mama and papa. I miss cooking for them. I miss seeing them even though we don’t always see eye to eye on some things.

There. I feel way better and lighter now that I’ve said written these things. I want to end this by thanking the Lord for His joy and comfort in every situation and season of my life. I thank Him for the second family He made me a part of here in Đà Nãng. And I also thank Him for He is the God who will give the same joy and comfort to my parents back in the Philippines.

Gotta go and grab some Zs now. It’s 2:05 A.M. where I am. Thanks a lot for reading. Merry Christmas! 🙂

Isaiah 9:6

Lagaw ni Joy

Got something to say?

